Berry & vanilla protein smoothie

There seems to be a buzz about protein powders of late and following an array of health events, I’ve become intrigued by the benefits protein powder and the best way to incorporate it into my diet. I’ve always viewed protein powders as something only professional athletes and body builders would use. I also thought protein powder as only suitable as a meal replacement or weight loss tool. It appears I was wrong on both counts.

Protein powders are a great morning boost that’s good for repairing muscle and helping your body recover after exercise. If I’m working out in the morning I like to have a protein shake within 10 minutes of completing my workout, on days I don’t work out in the morning I tend to have a protein shake as a morning snack as I find it helps me keep my cravings in control for the rest of the day.

Here’s a recipe you will become obsessed with and is gluten free, low GI and protein rich.

BERRY & VANILLA SMOOTHIE

Serves 1
250 g mixed frozen or fresh berries
1 cup of your choice of milk – almond, lactose free milk, rice milk etc
1 small banana
200 g low fat greek yoghurt
150 ml (2/3 cup) water
1 teaspoon flaxseed oil
A little honey if required
40g (2 heaped tablespoons) of a good quality Whey Protein Powder

Combine all the ingredients into a high speed blender
Blend until smooth and creamy
Serve immediately

Enjoy

L x

Enjoyed this recipe? Like it, Share it, Tweet it and leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

